2016bestnine: fiction edition

I can read a fiction book in half a second it feels like. I fly through those a lot faster than I do any kind of non-fiction book. That being said, I really like it when I can find a book that keeps me guessing from beginning to end. Lots of times, I can figure out the ending pretty soon, but if I can’t then it becomes a book I keep on my shelf for a while. The books on this post are exactly that.

  1. The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah. I’m a sucker for any kind of fiction taking place during World War II. The description of this book had me in, and just a few chapters in, I knew this was going to be one of the best books I’d ever read. Hannah tells the story of two sisters in France during the course of WWII. One sister lives in the countryside and the other lives in Paris and fights with the resistance. Descriptive, raw, and beautiful. Not a light read by any means, but definitely one worth your while.
  2. The Christiansen Family Series by Susan May Warren. Susan May Warren has recently become one of my favorite Christian fiction authors. Usually, I can tell what’s going to happen. And lots of times, I know the guy and girl will get together in Warren’s books. However, she writes with humor, a little bit of sarcasm every now and then, and just enough suspense to keep you wondering. This series is by far my favorite, because I’m a sucker for a big family in a small town. Light and easy, yet good, reads.
  3. The Summer Harbor Series by Denise Hunter. Hunter is another favorite author of mine. This series is about three brothers who live in the quaint fictional town of Summer Harbor, Maine. There is some suspense, a lost memory, and more all in a small town in New England. Sign me up!
  4. The Wedding Shop by Rachel Hauck. Another favorite. I’ve been a fan of Hauck ever since I read her series, The Songbird Series, with Sara Evans. Again, I can never quite tell how the story is going to end, and this story was no different. Set in the fictional town of Heart’s Bend, Tennessee, a woman reopens her great aunt’s wedding shop with the help of her good friend who is a general contractor. Her great aunt’s story is also told, and let me just say, you will NEVER guess the ending. SO good.
  5. Anne of Green Gables Collection by Lucy Maud Montgomery. I haven’t finished this whole collection yet (I’m currently reading book 7), but I would still recommend this series. I’ve watched the movies so many times that I thought nothing could be better. I will say, after the first book, the movies/books start to differ. But, in true Montgomery fashion, the books are very good, somewhat witty, and classics I think everyone should read.
  6. The Blue Castle by Lucy Maud Montgomery. Another classic by Montgomery. The Blue Castle is a story of a spinster who lives with her domineering mother and aunt. She gets a diagnosis from the doctor that she is fatally ill, and she leaves home, retreating to a quaint little island where she falls in love. But, of course, there’s a plot twist in the end which makes it so good!
  7. A Portrait of Emily Price by Katherine Reay. Reay does it again! She writes in a phenomenal way, like always, but this is probably my favorite of all of her books. An art restorer–and wanna-be artist–travels to Atlanta for work and meets a chef visiting from Italy. They have a whirlwind romance, get married, and move back to Italy to care for his dying father. Once some secrets are revealed, she questions everything and wonders if she really belongs in Italy. So good!
  8. Sandy Toes by Robin Jones Gunn. I have to put this on here because of so many reasons. I read all of the Christy Miller Series by Gunn in middle school, and then as she’s written more and more over the more recent years, I’ve read those too. Sometimes I think series should end, as much as I want them to continue. And I may have even thought that about this one over some time as well. But, this was so good. So sweet. I know a little part of my heart will always be tender towards this series, but I still think this was a good book!
  9. Walker Family Series by Melissa Tagg. I think that Tagg is one of few up and coming writers that actually writes. I’m never one-hundred percent sure what’s going to happen, and she makes each of her stories interesting and entertaining, whether they are full-length novels or short novellas. This series is about a family in small town Iowa–again, big family + small town = win for me. Really good, though.
Leave a Reply

