Goodbye, August. 

August has come and gone, and I’ve gotta say: fastest month this year. It FLEW by. I mean FLEW. It really feels like August 1st was just yesterday. But, it wasn’t. And now we’re in September, and I’m hoping that means COOLER WEATHER. Because JCrew and Gap have super cute clothes out and I want to wear them! Let’s be real, though, I won’t be wearing those until November at the earliest.

Anyway, school started back on Monday, so summer is officially over. I could maybe cry about that if I thought long and hard about it. This summer was just such a good one, and I miss sleeping in and being with my people a lot. I might miss the sleeping in more, though 😉 just kidding.

I mean, you’d probably be upset if all of a sudden these were your wake-up times when most days it’s been around nine or ten or maybe even eleven. I have to be at school earlier this year, which means I’m up and at ’em before the sun even rises. In order to do that, I’m in the bed by 9 or 9:30. I actually went to SLEEP at 8:30 the other night. No lie. I’m officially a grandma.

I have a new roommate, one of my good friends here in CLT. She’s just the sweetest. I came home after s really long (but good, honestly) first day on Monday to these. So sweet. And SO good!


Kasey came up a couple of weekends ago, and y’all, it was so good. I am grateful for this sweet friend, for how she loves, and for getting to still do life with her even though camp isn’t apart of either of our lives anymore. And, bonus! I get to see her this coming weekend!! Holla!!

August Reads: 

  • The Wedding Shop by Rachel Hauck. Rachel Hauck is one of my favorite fiction authors. I’ve read most of her work, and I’ve definitely seen her writing get better and better as time goes on. This, while being the most recent of hers, is probably my favorite. An excellent story. Perfect to bring along on a trip to the mountains or beach this fall!
  • Seven Women: And The Secret of Their Greatness by Eric Metaxas. This is a nonfiction piece by Eric Metaxas, who is known for his biography of Dietrich Bonhoeffer. This book is about 7 women who have made an impact on the world. They are mini-biographies, only about 30 pages each. Very well written!
  • Through Gates of Splendor by Elisabeth Elliot. Wow. I knew what was going to happen the whole time, but Elliot’s words along with journal entries from each of the five missionaries who were killed by the Auca Indians of Ecuador made the story so intriguing to me. An incredible example of what a faith-filled life looks like!

 

 

Leave a Reply

