July Recap

July was just as busy as June, if not even more so. I was out of town for almost three weeks in July, and as much as I hated living out of suitcases, it was good to see my people. We laughed and cried and celebrated and rejoiced together, which is always a plus. As good as it was, it’s just as good to be back in CLT, and I’ve declared August a no travel month. Because, let’s be real, I’ve met my quota of miles I need to drive for this whole year in the past two months alone. And then some.

img_1198
July started off in Atlanta. I helped move Kaila and Patrick into their new apartment, watched them run the Peachtree Road Race, and celebrated the Fourth by watching fireworks at Lenox.

img_1468
The big event in July was Kaila’s wedding, obviously. I like this snapshot from the rehearsal dinner because the three of us are smiling which is what we did all weekend long.

img_1389

The morning after the wedding, my mom and I headed to Hilton Head for a few days. We weren’t there super long, but we both got some sun, read a lot, and genuinely relaxed. At least I did.
img_1434

I headed back to CLT after two weeks away, and it was so good to be back. I spent time over the next ten or so days catching up with friends, reading (duh), and trying to wrap my mind around the fact that summer is really almost over. And being really grateful for the people I meet with in that courtyard and the buildings around it every week.

img_1459

Elizabeth came in town for a few days, and we experienced all things Elizabeth 🙂 (there’s an area of CLT called Elizabeth, so…). It was so fun getting to show her my city and getting to try out some new places!

img_1463

More and more new people are coming to Oakhurst, and meeting them has just been so good for my soul. It’s fun to figure out connections, to exclaim “you know her too!!!”, and to fellowship with these new residents of the Queen City. I think my favorite thing may be that we’re all going out to lunch on Sundays after church, and it just makes me smile. I like these people (and others not pictured) a whole lot.

img_1465

I was the first dinner guest at the Caudills’ home just last week! I spent a few days in ATL helping Kaila set up her classroom. We also got to see some other friends, and it was fun to have one last trip for the summer!

July Reads: (There seemed to be a theme of the books I read in July of strong female roles or novels that highlighted female relationships (sisters, mother/daughter, etc.). This was not on purpose, but nonetheless, these are some excellent books I definitely recommend.)

  • Sparkly Green Earrings by Melanie Shankle–This is a memoir about motherhood, written in Shankle’s hilarious style that makes for an easy read.
  • Women of the Word by Jen Wilkin–This was so refreshing to me, and I would recommend it to anyone, no matter how long you’ve been a Christian. It was just a great reminder to me about how to study my Bible.
  • The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah–I read a lot of books. I can typically predict the ending of the book well before I’m done with it. This one? No idea. I was thrown for a loop the ENTIRE time. It’s a novel set in France during WWII about two sisters and their roles in the war. It was so good. Long, but good.
Leave a Reply

