DC {#SurpriseBestFriendTrip Days 1-2}

So, I want to recap our trip for myself and anyone else who cares. I’m dividing it up by the cities we went to, and while including what we did, I’m going to also include some tips in case you happen to be going to any of these places in the near future. 

We started the trip in DC. As you may be aware, I went to DC in May. It was the first time I’d been since middle school, and I’m glad I got to go then before Kaila and I went. It gave me a better feel for the city. As far as “big cities” go, DC is definitely one of my favorites. It probably has to do with the history nerd in me, but it really is a great city! I’ll be back for sure. 

We got to the city around 8(???) on Sunday night. Traffic in Richmond and getting into DC is no fun, so our 6-hour trip turned into 8. We checked into our Airbnb in Capitol Hill, grabbed a quick dinner at Ted’s Bulletin, and then we headed back so we could get ready for our big day in DC on Monday. 


After going into the Museum of American History, we headed to the National Mall. We checked off almost all of the “big” sites, including: The Washington Monument, Korean and Vietnam War Memorials, Lincoln Memorial, The White House, and The Capitol. The Thomas Jefferson Memorial is tricky to get to. You have to walk, which is fine, but it’s kind of out of the way. We didn’t go on this trip, but I would suggest going/making sure you make it over there. 


After seeing most of the “big” things, we headed to Founding Farmers for lunch. I’ve heard their brunch is amazing, but their lunch was awesome, too. Great amount of food for the price you pay. There are multiple locations, too. 


We spent some of the afternoon at The National Air and Space Museum. I’d been here in middle school, but they had changed a lot/updated it, so it was fun to explore. It was much busier than the American History Museum, though, so know that. 


We went to dinner that night in Georgetown at Pinstripes. I would definitely recommend it! The food was awesome, and it is in a cute area. Georgetown in general is one of my favorite parts of DC.

A few tips: 

  • All of the Smithsonians are free. It is incredible what you can do in DC without paying anything. 
  • Stay at a place where you can park for free or even pay for parking and then walk/metro everywhere. Parking in DC is insane, so don’t deal with your car if you don’t have to. 
  • Explore Georgetown (this is where you’ll need your car, because the metro doesn’t go there). We went in the evening, and it was perfect. Parking was free (after 5 or 6), and it wasn’t near as “touristy” as the rest of DC. 

All this to say, I’ve been to DC three times now, and I can’t wait to go back. I haven’t done anything “new” other than going to Georgetown, but I still keep wanting to go back. There are a lot more Smithsonians I want to explore plus more of Georgetown I want to see. All in all, I can’t recommend going to DC enough!

Leave a Reply

