“I’m exhausted just looking at them.”

I started this post a month ago, and I never finished it. Figured now’s as good a time as never…

This is what my friend Aaron said as we sat at the USNWC on Sunday listening to The Oh Hellos play. He, Kasey, and I were stretched out, practically sunbathing because apparently it’s now summer (I so enjoy going from 57 degrees to 78 in just a day) and listening to one of our favorite bands play at TuckFest. We were surrounded by other people who were also sitting/laying while listening while a group of people who are probably still all in college stood next to the stage. It wasn’t like we wouldn’t stand if we wanted to (okay, maybe I wouldn’t and KP, I know you’re judging me as I write this), but it just made sense to sit. It was one of those chill, laid back environments, and I was happy for that (because we all know I’m not a concert-stander). However, when Aaron said that, I felt old. And it also felt appropriate because I’m just so doggone tired.

Do we ever stop being tired, I wonder?

Anyway, before I digress majorly, here’s why I’m tired:

Out of the next six weekends (including last), I’ll be out of town four (or maybe five, the verdict’s still out on one). For the one/two weekends I’ll be in CLT, I’m super busy. And it’s not that I’m not happy I’m getting to do said things, it’s just that being out of town four weekends out of six while working a full-time job is a LOT different than being out of town four weekends out of six right after you graduated from college. And apparently May’s a consistently busy month in my life these days (last May was CRAZY), but it’s okay. It’s all mainly for Kaila, and if she wasn’t such a great best friend, it wouldn’t be worth it 🙂

Update: I actually only went out of town/will go out of town for three of those weekends. This weekend, I was supposed to do approximately three different things, ended up not having to do the one here so I could’ve gone to Augusta, but I didn’t. It’s now almost four p.m., and I’m still in my pajamas. #NoShame #SabbathSaturday #SUMMERCOMEONALREADY

So, basically life has been pretty full these past few weeks, and I’m super thankful for that. The Lord has really blessed me with relationships, and He’s cultivating those, growing them into something new. Life has also included a lot of new experiences, most of which involve trying out some new restaurant or another.

I’m gearing up for summer, and I cannot wait (even though it’s been cold and rainy here for the past week). Days spent sleeping in, going to the gym at 10 or 11, meeting people for LUNCH–what a novel idea–or dinner, and a couple of road trips are calling my name. I seriously can’t wait.

Also, here are some fun things I feel the Internet world should know I’ve been enjoying lately. (Kasey told me I should write down things about this season, so I don’t forget them, and I’m trying to get better at that!)

  • CAN’T STOP THE FEELING by JT: Isn’t this just the best summer song?!?! 
  • Women’s Yara Birkenstocks: Okay, I know what you’re thinking…”Birkenstocks?!?! Really?!?!” But, y’all. They are making a comeback/have already made it and I’m a little late to the party. So stinking comfortable. I bought mine this week, and they are great.
  • Giddy Up, Eunice: I’m on the launch team for this awesome book that is coming out in just a couple of weeks. Giddy Up, Eunice is an incredible book by one of my favorites, Sophie Hudson. It’s about how women–of all stages of life–need each other. She tells personal stories, but she also examines the lives of three different relationships in Scripture–Mary and Elizabeth, Naomi and Ruth, and Eunice and Lois. It’s really a great book that I recommend for every woman. Plus, if you pre-order it, you get some special freebies that you don’t wanna pass up!

That’s about all, I think. Stay rested, friends!

 

Leave a Reply

