Best of: 2015 Books {Non-Fiction Edition}

I had a goal to read twenty books this year, and I far surpassed that goal by reading over 200 books this year. Reading is by far my favorite hobby. I’m the girl who always has a few books on my nightstand, as well as one in my purse to read if I’m caught in a situation where I have a few free minutes in my day. This year, I read a lot of books that were so-so, but I read a few that I’ll keep on my bookshelf for a long, long time. I would highly recommend any of the following books. (I’ve included a quick synopsis of the book, the link to it on Amazon, and one of my favorite quotes from the book.) (The fiction edition will be coming later this month.)

512EEPMJmVL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Home is Where My People Are by Sophie Hudson

This is an easy read about a woman raised in the deep South and her people. Sophie Hudson shares stories from her life about how God used the people He placed in her life to bring her closer to Him. It made me so grateful for my people.

Some of the most beautiful transformations take place during some of the darkest times.

41b+p6vSY5L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Nobody’s Cuter than You by Melanie Shankle

This is also a pretty easy read. Melanie Shankle writes about the beauty–and struggles–of female friendship. I laughed a lot during this one. I loved reading it and thinking about the sweet women who are my best and dearest friends.

I mean, we need Jesus to truly complete us, but we absolutely need our girlfriends because no man wants to listen to all the words we have to say in the course of a day.

EveryBitterThingCover-674x1024

Every Bitter Thing is Sweet by Sara Hagerty

This book did wonders on my soul. It was so incredibly refreshing. I’m a sucker for any good redemptive story, and this was definitely one of those. I saw so much of myself in Sara Hagerty’s story. I am incredibly grateful for her vulnerability in sharing her story and how the Lord has used it to bring me closer to Him. Be prepared to ugly cry multiple times while reading this one.

God comes in the mundane and shifts us, slightly and subtly. Suddenly and slowly, it is following Him in the unseen that feels most normal.

Wherever-the-River-Runs-Book-Cover

Wherever the River Runs by Kelly Minter

Kelly Minter has been one of my favorite Christian artists for a long time, so I knew I’d be a fan of this book. She shares stories of her travels to the Amazon River and how she met God there, through the beautiful people of the Amazon. This book is convicting and encouraging, as well as really intriguing.

And because He follows this wildly unconventional atlas where His ways are not our ways, the way to the adventure is sometimes through the gates of heartbreak and broken dreams. You can’t always tell where you’re going, but eventually you find Him to be what He has been all along: faithful.

breadandwineshaunaniequistBread and Wine by Shauna Niequist

This is the only cookbook I’ve ever read, but I’m pretty positive all cookbooks don’t include real-life stories from the chef like this one did. I enjoyed how short the chapters/sections were in this book, and I could come back to it in between other books if I wanted. I don’t necessarily agree with everything Niequist says in this book, but I will say that she has an unique way of story-telling that ropes you in!

Learn, little by little, meal by meal, to feed yourself and the people you love, because food is one of the ways we love each other, and the table is one of the most sacred places we gather.

41fNevaDWBL

Packing Light by Allison Vesterfelt

This is the story of a woman who quits her job and goes on a road-trip with a friend to all fifty states. It took me a little while to get into it, but this is definitely a good read. By the time I was done with it, I felt like I’d gone on the trip with Vesterfelt, was friends with her friends, and had experienced the things she experienced. If I could use one word to describe this one it would be raw. You’ll laugh and cry while reading this one for sure.

When we become who God meant us to be all along, we leave a wake of His presence behind us.

Leave a Reply

