a day off

So, apparently it takes a day off for me to finally get back to blogging. Granted, I’d say this year in general hasn’t been my best for blogging, which saddens me a little because I enjoy this chronicling of my life. However, this has been an incredibly busy/full of transitions year, so I’m not surprised that blogging has taken a back seat to well, to life. (2016, I’m coming for ya when it comes to blogging!)

Anywho, a quick shout out to our veterans. Thank you for your service! I come from a family full of those who have served and protected, and with my cousin Jordan just recently coming back from an overseas deployment, my heart is sensitive to those who sacrifice so much for our freedom, safety, protection. THANK YOU!

August and September were pretty busy months for me. I felt like when I wasn’t out of town, I was trying to get over being sick (hello, teaching five-year-olds), and I just wanted a couple of weekends where I wasn’t committed to anything. Don’t get me wrong, I’m so glad I got to see friends/family, celebrate weddings/wedding showers, and visit new/old places. But, I just couldn’t keep up that pace for October and November, knowing that December will be full of friends, family, and memories (Augusta, I’m coming for ya for almost two full and glorious weeks).

So, while I haven’t gone anywhere in October and have no plans to in November, the month was still full with friends and family visiting!

My aunt was visiting my family in Augusta, so she and my mom came up for a whirlwind visit the first weekend of October. I took them to my favorite Mexican place, we shopped, and we laughed and laughed and laughed some more!

My aunt was visiting my family in Augusta, so she and my mom came up for a whirlwind visit the first weekend of October. I took them to my favorite Mexican place, we shopped, and we laughed and laughed and laughed some more!

Kaila also came up that weekend, and we went to Smelly Cat Coffee. Because, Friends.

Kaila also came up that weekend, and we went to Smelly Cat Coffee. Because, Friends.

One of the rare sunny days we've had here in CLT lately.

One of the rare sunny days we’ve had here in CLT lately.

Kins came in town, and we spent part of the evening exploring Uptown. Super fun!

Kins came in town, and we spent part of the evening exploring Uptown. Super fun!

KP came so that we could see Ben Rector, and we had a blast!

KP came so that we could see Ben Rector, and we had a blast!

Does it make me creepy to admit that this is the third time I've seen Ben Rector in a year? Eeek. A great concert as usual, and Judah & the Lion were an awesome opening band.

Does it make me creepy to admit that this is the third time I’ve seen Ben Rector in a year? Eeek. A great concert as usual, and Judah & the Lion were an awesome opening band.

So, there’s my October. November’s been spent reading, writing lesson plans, watching my cousin and his wife rock the CMAs last week, and laughing my head off at this. Oh, and I celebrated Auburn’s win over A&M. Say, whattttt?!?!

Leave a Reply

