Best of 2014

In being true to myself, I like to make lists and reflect upon the past year. So, here’s my best-ofs of 2014!

Best Recipe: Puppy Chow Cookies I’m not really sure where Puppy Chow originated from, because I have friends from the North who know about it but friends from the North who don’t and the same for my friends from the South. Anyway, if you haven’t heard of Puppy Chow or Muddy Buddies, you may be thinking that these cookies are for dogs, but I promise they aren’t. If you’re a lover of chocolate and peanut butter, then these cookies are for you!

Best Book: The Circle Maker by Mark Batterson. I liked this book so much I wrote a post about it. I promise that this book is worth your money and your time. I read it in about a week–one of my busiest weeks of my fall semester mind you–and it really rocked my world.

Best Song: As Sure as the Sun by Ellie Holcomb. This song is one of my all time favorites, but I first heard it this year. I love all of the promises and reminders of God’s love in this song, and I enjoy listening to it so much. Simple and full of truth!

Best Moment: This conversation with the Lord. I’m more of a glass half-empty type person, and I’m rather critical of myself. When things aren’t going exactly the way I want them to go, I’m really quick to feel hopeless and to even believe that God has forgotten about me. This conversation I had with the Lord on the DH porch at camp was such a reminder and encouragement that He hasn’t forgotten about me and that He’s got something great planned for me!

Best Hard But Good: Getting certified to run the ropes course! Y’all. I just can’t even begin to explain how hard this was for me. I wouldn’t let myself think about it for the weeks leading up to Senior Staff training, which was probably not a good idea because I tend to need to prepare myself for hard situations and I didn’t in this case. I cried like a baby on three different occasions during the training, I hurt my nose and it bruised like someone had broken it and bled, and I was so on edge the whole time. BUT, I did it through the Lord’s strength. This training caused me to have to trust some new people in my life and became the foundation of some solid friendships. So hard. So good.

Best TV Show: This was the year of Grey’s Anatomy. I’ve watched the show occasionally over the years, but this year I watched all of the seasons thanks to Netflix + Hulu + On Demand. I’m now all caught up and waiting for the show to return in the new year.

Best Trip/Adventure: To choose one was hard, but I think I’ll go with my Atlanta/Asheville weekend in September. It was a very full weekend, and I didn’t sleep enough. BUT, I got to spend time with so many of my favorite people. Kaila and I shopped, ate, went to the Rend Collective concert, and laughed a lot. I scooted over to Asheville and went to the fair, laughed, ate, and worshipped with some of my camp favorites. It was a fun weekend full of adventure!

Best Newly Discovered Artist: The Oh Hellos. Either Kinsey or Hannah told me about this band sometime during the fall, and I saw that one of their albums was free on Noisetrade in December, so I decided to download the album. I really like them! Favorite song is The Valley. 

Best Life Lesson: It’s Okay to be Vulnerable. I tried my hardest to preach this to my ACITs this summer, but funny thing was, I wasn’t being all that vulnerable or open myself. It wasn’t until November that I realized how important it is to be willing to be vulnerable. Because it’s not about getting anything in return–it’s about being willing to be vulnerable and open and see what God does when you are.

Best Verse: Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer. -Romans 12:12 This verse just kept coming up through out the year, and it was such a great challenge/reminder. I love how much truth is packed into this verse.

Leave a Reply

