Where You Are

Let’s be real here, folks. Oftentimes in life, we’re in a season, a place, a town, a job where we don’t want to be. We’re a culture filled with constant movement, and most of us, well, we’re always looking ahead. We’re planning meals for next week before this week has even started. We’re budgeting for the next year when we’re barely halfway through this one. We can’t get through a big event without considering how the event next year will be. We’re living in a culture full of planners and busybodies who just want to see where they’re going–next.

Don’t get me wrong. Planning is good. Proverbs 29:18 says, “Where there is no vision, the people perish.” No solid organization that’s around today is just hanging out without a vision statement. Shoot, even the elementary schools I’m applying to have vision statements, and it should be pretty obvious to everyone what the vision of an elementary school is. But, my point is this: vision and planning are good things.

However.

Proverbs 19:21 says, “Many are the plans in the mind of man, but is the purpose of the Lord that will stand.” Other versions say “prevail”. I like that. The Lord’s purpose will prevail. So, no matter how much planning we do, the Lord’s purpose will–and does–prevail.

So, what do you do when you’re in a place in life that you didn’t plan on being in? You’re in a city you never wanted to live in, you’re working at a job you never wanted, you’re single and all your friends are married, you’re lonely, you’re not done with your education yet you should be, you’re married but there aren’t children yet, you’re far from home, etc. You’re just not where you want to be. What do you do? The Lord’s purpose has clearly prevailed; He’s brought you to this place, but you hate it. What do you do?

Be faithful where you are.

I listened to this really great sermon the other day about waiting on your personal Christmas. I think we can all admit we’re waiting on something. Currently, I’m waiting to graduate, to get a job, for a husband, the list goes on. But I’m still here, and God has clearly ordained for my days to be here. In the sermon, the passage was Psalm 37, where there are many applicable truths about waiting. But this one, “be faithful where you are”, based on verse 3, was the one that really stuck with me.

Be faithful where you are.

I’ve been asking myself the past few days what that meant for me. Some ideas have flitted about, and some truths like being more connected at church and loving the friends I do have here have come to mind. But, how am I supposed to truly be faithful where I am when I’m preparing my heart and mind for somewhere else? I know the Lord will deliver in His time, but what do I do until then? How am I to be faithful here?

It hit me the other night as I was talking with a dear friend. She was telling me about how she’s just been trying to love on and serve this family that recently lost one of their members. She didn’t tell it to me in those words; she was just telling me how she’s had some of the kids over, how she’s made dinner for them, how she’s encouraged the mom, etc. She’s just doing what she can with what she has to love this family who needs some extra love these past few weeks.

She’s being faithful where she is. 

There’s no formula for me to calculate to come up with some answer about how I’m supposed to be faithful here during this season of life. But, I know the gifts God’s given me–whether materialistic or non-materialistic–and in some way, I know exactly how to use those. In other ways, I can sense the Spirit leading me to move. While I know this is a period of waiting and in a year from now, I’ll see how God was using this time to prepare me for something I still can’t see yet, I’m still here for now. I don’t want to look back and miss out on opportunities that were right in front of my face because I was too concerned with what’s going to happen post-graduation.

It’s a daily process, a daily desire to surrender and to focus on the present, a daily decision to be faithful where I am. I’m going to fail; I’m going to daydream about the future, but the beauty is that He’s still faithful even when I’m not. So, I’m going to try my hardest to be faithful where I am, but I’m going to lean into the one who is faithful always for all of my days.

Leave a Reply

