The Circle Maker

I first heard of The Circle Maker by Mark Batterson this summer when my friend Emily was reading it. I’d heard of Mark Batterson before; my youth pastor was a big fan of his book, In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day. Emily raved about The Circle Maker, and during one of our devotions, she read us a passage of the book. Last week, I was at Lifeway, and it was on sale for $5. I decided to snatch it up while it was such a deal, and I’m so glad I did. This book has drastically changed the way I view prayer and the way I’ve been praying. I have begun to pray some pretty bold prayers, and it has been cool to see how He has already answered one of them. There are more that I know He’s in the process of answering, and friends, let me tell you, I am so excited to see what God is going to do in the next few months of my life! While I think you should just go grab this book for yourself, here are a few of my favorite quotes.

There is nothing God loves more than keeping promises, answering prayers, performing miracles, and fulfilling dreams. 

Miracles are the by-product of prayers that were prayed by you or for you. And that should be all the motivation you need to pray. 

The more faith you have, the more specific your prayers will be. And the more specific your prayers are, the more glory God receives. 

Most of us don’t get what we want because we don’t know what we want. Most of us don’t get what we want because we quit circling. We give up too easily. We give up too soon. We quit praying right before the miracle happens. 

Nothing honors God more than a big dream that is way beyond our ability to accomplish. 

He allows our small plans to fail so that His big dream for us can prevail. 

If you take God at His word, you’ll make the joyful discovery that God wants to bless you far more than you want to be blessed. And His capacity to give is far greater than your capacity to receive. 

The blessings of God won’t just bless you; they will also complicate your life. Sin will complicate your life in negative ways. The blessings of God will complicate your life in positive ways. 

What would happen if you focused your prayers on one thing for one person for one month or one year? There’s only one way to find out: do your own prayer experiment. 

One reason God does miracles is to stretch our faith so we can draw bigger circles so He can do bigger and better miracles. 

One thought on “The Circle Maker

  1. Pingback: Best of 2014 | embracing today

Leave a Reply

