Oh Yeah, 7

April was the month where I was supposed to where only 7 clothes (besides my work clothes) for a month.

I did well until halfway through week 4. Other than the day I went to the Masters and one day where it was FREEZING, I stuck to my plan. I wore that dadgum orange Auburn t-shirt more than I ever should have, and if I ever have to see my skinny jeans again, I might scream. I had about four days left in the month, and I had a meeting at school to go to. The only things I had clean out of my 7 clothes were my coral maxi skirt and my orange Auburn t-shirt. That combo was NOT about to happen. I threw on a cute blue skirt, and I said I’M DONE.

So, I didn’t exactly complete this month, but whatever. I still learned a few things, and the days after that meeting I wore stuff for work (which was included) and I had to dress up for a class project, so I don’t feel too bad about “cheating”. 🙂 Here’s what I learned:

  • I care way too much about what other people are going to say about my outfits. Not to sound conceited, but I tend to get compliments on my clothing items/outfits. I really enjoy looking cute (most days). But at the end of the day, what matters isn’t what’s on the outside, but the inside (sort of cliche, I know).
  • People DIDN’T notice. And if they did, they didn’t say anything about it. I babysat for four days in a row, and I wore two outfits those four days. The parents never said a thing.
  • It wasn’t the end of the world. Yeah, it would’ve been nice to have had a jacket when Kaila and I were in Athens and it was a bit chilly or had a rain coat on a few of the days it poured, but I survived without those things.
  • It’s easy to get stuck in a “clothes rut”. I sometimes cycle through the same t-shirts, jeans, shorts, etc. and forget I even have some of the items I have. I’m trying to do better and take advantage of the clothes I own.

What’s next? This month (May), I’m going to set aside one day each week for the Sabbath. As I’ve grown in my faith, this is something I’ve realized is so important. There is obviously a reason the Lord rested. We NEED rest. Shoot, this week alone I am in such need of rest. I’ve looked at the month ahead, and even though classes are over, I’m swamped. If I’m not working, I’m babysitting, and if I’m not babysitting, I’m going to the beach. Literally, that is the month of May for me. Soooooo, I’m setting aside one day each week (that may not be Sunday) for my Sabbath. I’m resting, and for me that may mean reading a book, catching up on household chores, shopping, or just hanging out with friends. I’m hoping to make the most of this time, because I really want to head to camp prepared and ready to serve, not exhausted.

Here’s to another month of 7! What a journey.

Leave a Reply

