7(ish) Clothing Items for a Month

This month for my 7 challenge is to wear only 7 pieces of clothing. 7 PIECES OF CLOTHING. When I first read that chapter in Jen Hatmaker’s book, I sort of laughed. Yeah, maybe I’ll do that one. I can handle the giving things away and the no social media (which apparently I couldn’t really), but only 7 pieces of clothes. Yeah, right. But, here I am, day 2 into my month of only 7 clothes, and I’m doing this. What clothes did I pick, you ask?

  1. Khaki Shorts
  2. Black Athletic Shorts
  3. Dark Skinny Jeans
  4. Coral Maxi Skirt
  5. Light Denim Button-Up
  6. Orange Auburn T-Shirt
  7. Short-Sleeve Blue & Pink Striped Shirt

I am not counting undergarments (because, gross! I don’t do laundry enough for that) nor am I counting the jeans and plain white shirts I have to wear to work. I’m also going to rotate between my Chacos, gold sandals, and tennis shoes over the next month. So, it’s not exactly 7 items but it’s pretty close in my opinion.

Why am I doing this? Well, you can read my synopsis of 7 here, but I’m doing this as a “fast” of sorts. I LOVE my clothes, and I really do enjoy putting outfits together. Real life confession: I really enjoy planning my outfits for the weeks I get to student teach. It may or may not be my favorite part of student teaching 😉 I spent a LOT of time planning what I’m going to wear or trying on 12 different outfits before settling on one. I waste a lot of time doing this, and if my ultimate goal in this “7 journey” is to get closer to the Lord, then I don’t need to be wasting time on what clothes I’m going to wear. I do think it’s important to look nice and presentable, but I don’t think that’s the most important things in life. AND, I’m not taking those clothes to Heaven, so what’s the point in being so obsessed with material things?

Note: I know that I’m not truly living all of these things out. I’m learning and I’m trying to process what it means to NOT be concerned with my image or my stuff. However, I don’t know if I’ll ever fully be unconcerned with my image. I think it will be an ongoing process. My ultimate goal is to grow closer to the Lord, though, and I’m hoping I can see how trying to be unconcerned with my outfits will help me with that goal.

So, here’s to 28 more days of wearing these 7 things!

Leave a Reply

